top of page
Search

THE MATRIX

As I have mentioned before the professor asks us to design a matrix to force us to face our design decisions with more thought than we were used to, to precent in some way the way were are making decisions and analyze if it is our best option. Of course with a matrix you get infinite options and you have to decide on one, which I also think is part of what the professor wants us to learn, how to make a decision on what to present to your client and stand behind that decision. All difficult lessons I am afraid, they require a lot of "thinker" ability ( the "thinker" I refer to is a term our professor used to explain the kind of people needed to make a, architecture firm work, it was actually interesting and will make another blog about that, perhaps when I have had time to sit down and analyze/inform myself on the topic. "How a student sees a firm" I think it would make an interesting blog)

Any way we're way of topic, so matrix. This is the first attempt at this final matrix...


There are three rings, the outer ring is were the "inspirations", shall we call them, go. What I mean by "inspiration" is the projects from which the volumetric results were made. The second ring has, as you can hopefully tell, the volumetric attempts of the project, and lastly, the third ring, this one has the particular details that will play an important role in the atmosphere and spacial definition of the project.

Now this is just a preliminary matrix, since as we can see the second ring perhaps does not need all the volumetric options and the first ring doesn't even have the elements yet (they will be there I promise). And of course we are missing the final result which goes in the middle of the circle, kinda like the center of gravity. I will make more than one option then present it to my group and see which one is the one they understand better and then we will present it to the professor.

Wish me luck



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page